Image

vizual-statistix:

When I started this blog, one of my first posts addressed chess square utilization by Bobby Fischer. At the time, several people asked me how his move distribution compared to other GMs. So I finally decided to revisit the topic and do some additional exploration.  Here are the results for square utilization for 12 masters, playing as white and black. In generating these, I calculated some other interesting stats that I thought were worth a few bar charts. Who knew queenside castling was so unpopular?

Data source: http://www.pgnmentor.com/files.html#players

Leave a Reply

